Where Would You Like to Work?

I had the fortunate opportunity to sit down with my boss the other day to discuss the my future ad what I am looking for.  He told me that he read an interesting book titled “What Color is Your parachute?” and he wanted to discuss the themes that arose in the book in relation to my future.  The book is a career planning guide and spiritual guide for personal insight in your career.  Over the years it has been renowned as one of the better career help books on the market.  Essentially, our discussion focused on where I would like to see myself working in 15 years.  According to the book, many people find themselves in a job they do not like simply because they “go with the flow” throughout their career.  Without stopping and thinking about what they truly want, they take jobs that are available.  Of course the book does not say you should deny jobs simply because they are not exactly what you are looking for, but rather it asks you to take a long look at the job offered and to ask yourself if it coincides with your career goals.

I cannot cover in detail all of what the book embodies, or our discussion for that matter, but here are some of the main themes and questions it asks you.

Where do you want to work?

What type of organization do you want to work for?

What kind of people environment do you want to work for?

What is your goal/purpose/value for work?

What are your ideal working conditions?

What are the work responsibilities you would like in a job?

What are some transferable skills you bring to a job?
After discussing these questions, I discovered a lot about myself and what I truly want from a job.  Its easy to list what companies you would like to work for by their reputation, but make sure they meet your expectations for your career before diving into a job.  It is just as important to know what you want in a job as it is knowing what an employer wants from you.  This is great for interviews as well because it shows the interviewer that you know what you want and you are actively working towards reaching your goals. Make sure you understand where you want to be before you decide which direction you will go.


About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where Would You Like to Work?

  1. apbatpdx says:

    I think that this is a really cool book and I want to check it out. I think this is an important time in our lives because it lays the foundation down for what we may be doing for a long time. I have been thinking about this a lot lately, and I am hoping that I can start a career that I will look back on in 10 years and be satisfied, not resentful.

  2. hkaplanm says:

    Great image. Best of luck in your pursuit!

  3. Ashlea says:

    I will definitely be reading this book! Thanks for the advice!

  4. alisonklapper says:

    Sounds like a neat book. In the past, I always have taken the sure thing–whatever job I can get. I didn’t understand the concept of being picky until very recently. I hope to find something that can feed my passions.

Leave a Reply

