Winter is Here

WHHHYYYYYYYY!!!!???

Winter has officially started as far as I’m concerned.  As a daily bike commuter to work, I was more than happy with how our Fall weather had been.  I could ride to my internship in a t-shirt and jeans and be perfectly comfortable for the whole ride.  But this past week has caught me quite unprepared and cold as ever.  Tuesday’s freezing rain was quite possibly the worst bike ride of my life and it didn’t help that I was very unprepared for the conditions.  I showed up to my internship soaking wet with only an extra pair of jeans.  Although it was rough, I managed to get through the day rather successfully, but the ride home proved to be only colder and wetter, hoping that when I jump in a hot shower I wont shatter like a windshield .  Two days later and my hands have finally thawed to post this rant tat although I love this city, I never seem to be ready for the Winter.

So this year I figured I would get ready.  For anyone who grew up in warmer climates, I greatly envy your Winters, but these tips could help if you plan on living in the rainy city.

1.  Don’t be fooled by a sunny morning – Portland is notorious for faking a beautiful day in the morning only to turn to harsh conditions by the afternoon.  Pack as if it’s a cold, rainy day even if you are optimistic about the weather when you leave in the morning.

2.  Pack an extra pair of socks and shoes.  I can’t emphasize this enough if you bike to work.  Cold wet feet at work = bad day.

3.  Get some rain gear!  We all have it but not always wear it.  It is better to be dry at work than fashionable on the way there.

I plan on following these three guidelines for the rest of the Winter an hopefully I will not swear to move south for the winter as I always have in the past.

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter is Here

  1. hkaplanm says:

    It sneaks up on you every time of the year around here. The best saying ever about Oregon is, “if you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes and it’ll change.” So true.

  2. wei2 says:

    Stay warm!
    After I have been in Oregon for over 3 years, I finally get used to have an umbrella with me all the time in winter.

  3. Chloe DeMars says:

    Good tips. Especially the extra socks & shoes for the bikers out there, having wet feet all day sounds miserable. I guess it is time to make that raincoat investment, the investment I should have made years ago.

Leave a Reply

