Big Ideas from Everyday situations

As I waited for my meeting to begin this past Tuesday, I picked up Wired Magazine to pass the time.  As I skimmed the pages looking for an interesting article I came across a review of a cool new “gadget,” as they called it.  Now I am no gadget nerd but sometimes someone will come out with a device that makes me say, “why didn’t I think of that?”  A simple idea that becomes a product you can’t imagine you lived without. The “gadget” is a modified power strip called the Pivot Power.  Essentially, this power strip relieves the user of the issue of having oddly shaped power adapters not fitting correctly by allowing each plug in to have a pivot point.  This means that you can adjust it to however you find fitting.  It may not seem groundbreaking at first, but for those who have had to use multiple power stripes to do the job of what one should do then you know how great this product is.


Everyone who has used a power strip and had trouble plugging in various devices has run into frustration with a standard power strip, but no one came up with a way to fix it (besides the squid of course).  It made me think aboiut the broader context of this idea.  We are always encouraged to develop the next big thing, to create something brand new that revolutionizes the game.  But, it might be just as important, if not more important, to look smaller and revolutionize what has worked in the past (but with some problems).  This can go way beyond gadgets, think ideas and strategy.  Perhaps the next big thing is right under your nose and for some reason you haven’t seen it in the right light or to its full potential.

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Ideas from Everyday situations

  1. hkaplanm says:

    Why I have never seen this, I have no idea, but that is pretty great. I constantly have to plug multiple power strips into other ones just so that I have space. I may have to pick one of these up.

  2. wei2 says:

    I love this post! To fix the problems we faced in the past is the way we move forward.

Leave a Reply

