Walk through and Interview at Wieden + Kennedy

After Linda Williams spoke with our class last week, I was motivated more than ever to continue speaking with professionals and learning as much as I can from them before I graduate.  This morning, I spoke with Jordan, an Account Supervisor at Wieden + Kennedy.  Since I had never been to the Portland Headquarters of Wieden + Kennedy, this experience was more than an informational interview, but an inside look at how their agency works.  Upon entering the building, I walked into a large, open room filled with Halloween decorations for a staff party later that day. Everyone passing by me was dressed in full costume and with an attitude more as though they were at a weekend getaway rather than work.  As you can see, the atmosphere of this agency is very welcoming, creative, and outgoing.  As I met up with Jordan and we began to discuss his work and agency life in general, I learned that many agencies act this way.  There is no ladder nor feel of silos.  WIth this layout and attitude, creative ideas are not only encouraged, they flourish, making work and time fly by.

Although I have had many informational interviews in the past, this one was unique in the fact that I had never conducted an interview like this in the actual agency building.  It is one thing to talk to someone in your field of choice but it is a whole different arena when you see them in their work environment and around the people who they work with day and night.  One of my biggest takeaways from today was seeing how the agency works first hand.  I got a great feel of how agency life would be and what I can expect if I land a job at an agency in the future.  And it was cool to see the infamous “Fail Harder” sign in-person!

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walk through and Interview at Wieden + Kennedy

  1. alisonmoran says:

    W+K is so legit. Proud of you, Kevin. Sounds like an ideal working environment.

  2. wei2 says:

    Great experience. The working environment does sounds welcoming and outgoing!

  3. pdxsx says:

    Good work, Kevin!

  4. apbatpdx says:

    That is so cool. I have always wanted to take a tour of that agency. Hopefully it can lead to something for you!

Leave a Reply

