Myers-Briggs test hit me right on…but not what I expected

The Myers-Briggs personality indicator is a psychological test that shows you what type of personality profile you fit into.  (Here is a ten minute sample test if you are interested, not the real version) Before I took the test I thought I would guess what category I would fall into without really knowing what each truly defined.  My Guess was ESFP.  How wrong I was.  Turns out after taking the test and reading more about each category, I was INFJ.  My poor guessing derived mostly from me placing false connotations to each category (a fairly common problem that is addressed by the author).  So what does INFJ mean to me?

While taking the test I found that I could quite easily define my self in the most of the categories even though I could see parts of my personality fitting into both sides.  I do see myself as an introvert in the way I like to recharge my batteries by myself and I value my personal time.  But I do love being around people and find myself “communicating with enthusiasm” quite frequently.  Between sensing and intuition I definitely see myself on the intuitive side. With the last set, I saw that I fall into the judging category because I like to be organized and get satisfaction when a problem or project is resolved.  The only pair of categories where I was truly torn was between thinking and Feeling.

After reading and analyzing the thinking and feeling section, I found myself relating to both sides when they gave situations.  I believe in logic and making realistic solutions to problems.  But I also consider others feelings and think deeper into how the solution might affect others.  Finally, after leaving the test and surfing the Internet, I came across an article that helped me pick the feelings side.

Apparently Terrell Owens Tweeted to close to game time this weekend and was fined $25,000.  Here is the article for more background.  A person who defines themselves as a “thinker” would follow the rules and without thinking about the situation would fine him.  It is fair and it is a rule after all.  But, the side that I leaned towards in this debate over the fine, the “feelings” side, would see it as a situation where you would consider the tweet and see that in the end it is  not very fine worthy.

How would you have handled this situation if you were commissioner?   That is a good indicator of whether you are a thinker or a feeler.

The results of this test were surprisingly accurate and I recommend it to people who are interested in these types of studies.

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myers-Briggs test hit me right on…but not what I expected

  1. pdxsx says:

    Good self-analysis and reflection, Kevin!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

