Great Portland Ads, making me want to hang out downtown even more

Since I am an ad junkie at heart, I tend to get excited about new and interesting campaigns.  Once more, if that campaign hits close to home, I love it!  North, a Portland Agency (and so much more) that works with clients ranging from Mayor Sam Adams to Deschutes Brewery, has unleashed an ad campaign for Downtown Portland and all its beauty. 

The Downtown Portland campaign focuses on the heart and soul of Downtown and all it has to offer.  (Here is the website) Although the main goal is to increase revenue at the many retailers and stores downtown, the campaign focuses more on the overall experience that our unique city has to offer.  What draws me to this campaign is the simplicity of the message:  Downtown is a place of originality and wonder, demanding multiple visits from those who get a peek.

Tomorrow morning, I will have the pleasure of seeing the heart of this campaign as well as the many businesses, departments, and people involved in making it happen.  The Portland Bureau of Transportation (my current internship) is a large part of this campaign because after all, people need to use the streets to get from one business to another and to see all the city has to offer. 

Here are some closing words of wisdom from North:

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Great Portland Ads, making me want to hang out downtown even more

  1. Sarah Helfgott says:

    Sounds like a great campaign! I’ll have to look out for it. Anything embrassing the spirit has my thumbs up!

  2. alisonmoran says:

    I love, love, love the aesthetic of these North ads! Ah. Makes me kinda wish I had gone into advertising.

  3. andrew says:

    I had no clue this agency even existed. They are doing some really cool things, I like the idea of having a campaign for a City instead of just one client at a time. Good stuff.

  4. hkaplanm says:

    I really like that last photo.

  5. jeffpollock says:

    That looks like an awesome campaign, I’ll keep my eyes out for it when I’m downtown. North seems to produce lots of good work too, have you seen their most recent campaign for Deschutes Brewery?

  6. pdxsx says:

    Great post, Kevin! Super insight and well-researched!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

