Interning at the Portland Bureau of Transportation

 The Portland Experience is underway and I thought I would explain my internship and first week in the experience.  I am currently a communications intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation located in Downtown Portland.  My position includes helping with the Refresh project, a project that includes organizing and revamping the Bureau’s website, as well as maintaining the Bureau’s social media and working with my director Dan Anderson.  I will also be taking on various communications and public relations tasks including creating press releases for upcoming events and maintaining news throughout the Bureau’s website.

Although it has only been a week, I have seen a great deal of how the Bureau of Transportation works.  Unlike my previous internship with a small technology and software company called Monsoon, the Bureau is much larger and in turn works in a much different manner.   The process of action is much different than a smaller company but it is interesting to see both sides of the marketing world.  I am excited to see how to work in a different environment than Monsoon and gain experience in a large, city related organization.  Further, working for the City of Portland has been a great experience in itself.  I have never been involved in seeing how the city I grew up in works and how our local government truly manages its time and resources.  Here is a great project the PBOT is working on called Sunday Parkways, an event that helps introduce alternative means of transportation while uniting neighborhoods at local parks and bike/walk routes.

                            

Another cool part of my internship with PBOT is working with the Mayor.  I rarely had seen Mayor Sam Adams in person before this experience but now we work with him a few times a week.  This experience looks to be very rewarding and I am looking forward to what the next nine weeks have to offer.

About kevinbeaudry

Kevin Beaudry is a University of Oregon School of Journalism advertising student; communications and web development intern at the Portland Bureau of Transportation; interactive media enthusiast; green brand thinker; and home grown Portland native.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interning at the Portland Bureau of Transportation

  1. pdxsx says:

    Nice work, Kevin! Good pics and links!

    ~J

Leave a Reply

